FAMILY FIRST DEFENSE
...train to protect your loved ones

(352) 283-8340
info@familyfirstdefense.com



HOME



Conceal Permit / Safety
2 choices

Defensive Skills 1

Home Defense
most important class

Defensive Skills 2

Concealed Defense
true conceal class

Advanced Skills

Private Training

Active Shooter
Response

Virtual Range
Training

UnArmed


Location/Range

Contact / About Us

FAQ



Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Florida concealed carry laws?

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has a lot of helpful information on their website. You can read the Florida carry law here: Florida Statute 790.06 and since you are responsible for knowing the law, we highly recommend reviewing the current laws and be aware of changes.

Who may take the class?

Anyone may take the class including those who reside in other states and foreign nationals. Students under the age of 21 can take the class provided they meet certain requirements. Call us for details. To apply for your State of Florida License, you must meet certain state requirements. The requirements are that you must be at least 21, a permanent U.S. resident and pass several background checks.

How do I get my Florida Concealed Weapon License?

The easiest way to apply is by making an appointment at one of several dozen Concealed Weapon License Service Locations throughout the state. You may also apply by mail, but will still need to visit your local sheriff's office for fingerprinting.

Can I fail the class?

The only way to fail the class is to intentionally violate one of the gun safety rules and not correct the violation for your instructor. Safety is the primary concept taught in the class and must be followed at all times.

What should I bring to the class?

Your driver's license or state-issued ID. Your pistol and 30 rounds of ammo. Eye and ear protection is required on the range. In some situations, eye and ear protection may be provided.

What if I don’t have a pistol?

You may rent a gun from the instructor for $10 (cleaning fee) or $15 which includes the ammunition only for the basic CWL class. Please bring cash to cover the rental fee.

Is there an extra range fee?

Yes, our company trains at several different ranges, each having their own cost. As a result, we cannot include the range fee in our class fee. Range fees vary typically from $10 to $25 for the entire day. Your instructor will notify you of your range fee in the information email about your class.

Can I take the class if I’ve never fired a gun?

Absolutely. We love beginners... they have no bad habits! The class covers shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun. You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting and safety.

What other states honor my license?

See the map or click on any state in this reciprocity map to see the states where that permit/license is honored. This can change from time to time so be sure your information is up to date before traveling. The ultimate authority is the Florida Department of Agriculture which maintains an up to date reciprocity listing at all times. You can check the State of Florida HERE.

How long is my license valid?

The Florida Concealed Weapon License is valid for 7 years.

How do I renew my license?

Approximately three months prior to the expiration of your license, you will receive a renewal form and instructions in the mail. Upon reaching your expiration date, you can no longer carry. However, the State of Florida will allow you to renew up to six months past your expiration without re-applying.

When I get my license, should I carry a handgun?

Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct. If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you. Continuing your development and training is the key to successful defensive capabilities.

When should I use a gun to defend myself?

If you ever shoot someone no matter how justified, your life as you know it is over. Don't ever do it unless it is the absolute last resort to save your life or the life of someone you care about.




TRAINING CALENDAR
Sign Up for
EMAIL Notices
Register for a Class
USCCA Insurance
click image below