Frequently Asked Questions
We are a training Academy, not just a Conceal / Safety Class that covers minimal information. Think of our company being a school (Academy) of learning. Self Defense is a learning process that requires ongoing training and our company offers a series of classes to accomplish this goal. Our basic class prepares you with the knowledge to continue your education. While we might refer to your first class as “basic”, it is far from that.
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has a lot of helpful information on their website. You can read the Florida carry law here: Florida Statute 790 and Florida Statute 776, since you are responsible for knowing the law, we highly recommend reviewing the current laws and be aware of changes that take place each and every year. As a registered student, we will try our best to keep you informed of the important changes that will effect you on our email news. If you attend our Concealed Weapons License Class, we will cover the most important laws that could effect you.
Anyone may take the class including those who reside in other states and foreign nationals. Students under the age of 21 (as young as 13) can take the class provided they meet certain requirements. Call us for details. To apply for your State of Florida Concealed Weapons License, the basic requirements are that you must be at least 21, a permanent U.S. resident and pass the State of Florida background check.
The easiest way to apply is by making an appointment (if needed) at one of the Tax Collectors Offices that is participating in the processing Concealed Weapons Licenses. Every County in the State of Florida is required to process applications but only designated locations in each County can process. Remember, that since this is a State License, you can process your application in any County and at any participating location.
In a nutshell, yes…
Not paying attention or spending your time on your “smart” phone during the class will not help your situation. This is serious information and we suggest you come prepared to learn the required information. Most are worried about the shooting requirements at the range… We can assure you that Your success is Our success and your instructor will work with you to make certain that your skills are acceptable and that you are ready to achieve the next level.
Your driver’s license or state-issued ID. Your pistol (if you already own one) and 50 rounds of ammo. Eye and ear protection is required on the range (ear protection is provided). If you already own a hand gun, please bring it to the class. If you do not own one, we will provide the handgun and needed ammo for your CWL class. Those participating in advanced classes also have the option to use our handgun with arrangements.
If you do not yet own a handgun, one can be provided for the Conceal Weapons License Class along with ammo. For the advanced classes, if you purchase your ammo from us, we will provide a handgun, or a there is a $20 rental for the day.
Yes, our company trains at several different ranges, each having their own cost. As a result, we cannot include the range fee in our class fee. Range fees vary typically from $10 to $25 for the entire day. Your instructor will notify you of your range fee in the information email about your class. Example: in the Gainesville area, the typical range fee is $20. Since we train at many locations throughout the Southeast US, range fees differ. Your range fee will be explained once you register for a class.
Absolutely. We love beginners… they have no bad habits! The CWL/Safety Class covers shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun. You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting and safety and come away with a giant smile. Advanced classes have individual requirements based on the level of training.
See the map or click on any state in this reciprocity map to see the states where that permit/license is honored. This can change so be sure your information is up to date before traveling. The ultimate authority is the Florida Department of Agriculture which maintains an up to date reciprocity listing at all times. You can check the State of Florida HERE.
The Florida Concealed Weapon License is valid for 7 years. You will be notified by the State of Florida when it is time to renew.
Approximately three months prior to the expiration of your license, you will receive a renewal form and instructions in the mail. Upon reaching your expiration date, you can no longer carry. However, the State of Florida will allow you to renew up to six months past your expiration without re-applying for your license again.
Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct. If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you. Continuing your development and training is the key to successful defensive capabilities.
If you ever shoot someone, no matter how justified, your life will change. Don’t ever present or use lethal force unless it is the absolute last resort to save your life or the life of someone you care about.